My New Pre-diabetic Control Diet

Hey, guys! How are you doing?

I’ve been struggling with pre-diabetes for the last few months. Thankfully, because of my awesome doctor, I’ve found a way to control it without taking any medication! And it’s all based on the food I eat.

2015 was a pretty hard year for me. I was on steroids for an illness, which caused me to retain water and gain extra weight. I wasn’t overweight by any means, but I looked chubby nonetheless. I think that my body type is most comfortable at 95-105 lbs, and I was easily 120 lbs at that time.

To add to that, I found out that I was pre-diabetic. I guess my old diet of eating ice cream for breakfast wouldn’t fly anymore. 😛

I was pretty pissed off. I vowed that once I was off the steroids and I got my old body back, I would start eating healthily!

I officially stopped taking steroids on November 2016. In a month, I lost 20 lbs. And the day I hit 98lbs was the day my doctor advised me to try a low-carbohydrate diet.

Diabetics might be familiar with this diet, but for the uninitiated, let me explain briefly. The point is to eat only 50 grams (or lower) of carbs in one day. This means no bread, no potatoes, no sugar, no pasta or noodles. Most fruits are out. The diet mainly revolves around meat, fish, fat, eggs, veggies, avocados, and berries.

EASIEST. DIET. EVER.

Low-carb diets are great for blood sugar control, as I’m sure you’ve all heard. I’m not going to write all the specifics here since they’re easy to Google, and I’ll link some references below in case you’re interested. But within a month, my blood work drastically improved. I have so much energy, I’m clear-headed, I sleep well, and I have zero cravings for carbohydrates. 😀

Before you start whining that you can’t live without whatever food you’re addicted to, STOP! You can eat whatever you want, as long as it falls within your allotted number of daily carbs. Plus, there’s always sugar-free ice cream, dark chocolate and sugar-free soda!

Here’s a little photo blog of what I usually eat!

IMG_20161225_200416_810

IMG_20161124_151308

IMG_20170108_130959_998

IMG_20170108_164728_918

IMG_20170208_070901_260

IMG_20170211_093349_076

IMG_20170214_155701_907

IMG_20170305_150058_764

IMG_20170204_182826_160

IMG_20170219_183413_579

IMG_20170316_090751_886

I’m definitely not preaching that this is the only way to control your blood sugar levels, but if you don’t want any medication, you can give it a shot. But remember, ask your doctor first!

Low-carb diets are also reportedly good for weight loss. For that, you’ll have to eat lower than 20 grams of carbs per day to induce ketosis (which is different from ketoacidosis). My boyfriend is trying that right now, so I’ll report back after a month to see if it’s effective!

Here are some useful links:

Reddit

r/keto for xx

Diabetes Daily

Guide to Low Carb

Diabetes Doctor

DiaTribe

There you go. 🙂

I just wanted to share my new diet with you guys because I was so happy with how it was working. Sooner or later, as long as I stick to this way of eating, I’m pretty confident that I’ll get out of the pre-diabetic risk I’m currently in.

Fingers crossed!

IMG_20170317_075522_811
Peace out LMAO
4 thoughts on “My New Pre-diabetic Control Diet

  1. Okаy,? Lee said and then hһe stߋpped and thought.

    ?The best factor ahout God is ??? hmmmm?????..?

    He puzzled as a result of һe had so many things that were great about God however he wished to pick the most effective one so he would wіn the game.
    ?That he is aware of everything. Tһat?s really cool.
    Meaning he wіⅼl help me with my homework.? Larry ⅽonxluded with a proᥙd еexpresѕion οn his face.

    Like

  2. Singing worship songs is sweet but that?s not the only
    method to worship.? Daddy mentioned, perhaps to maке Larry stоp singing.
    ?Therеe are lots of methods to worship.

    Like

  3. I do know!? Ѕaid Larry. ?I guess hе likes angels as a result of
    hе has them round all the time. Possibly he and the angels play
    houѕehold games like we do sometimes. Ꮲossibly they play Monopoly.?
    This made Mommy cһortle really hard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

