Becoming Minimalist Day 1: Why I Chose Minimalism

Have you ever looked around your house or room or even your desk at work and thought, how the hell did I end up with so much stuff?

That was me, almost every day.

I honestly don’t know how this downward spiral began. I guess I’m not as horrible as I think I am, since as a kid I read books like Walden and the Gospel According to Larry series. That helped me from making mindless purchases, but that still didn’t stop me from stocking up on useless crap.

eliminate-the-unnecessary1

I used to walk into my room and hit my shins on bins of clothes that couldn’t fit into my closet (and I had THREE full-sized closets at home…not counting the clothes I have at my cousin’s house, where I stay when I’m working). I would trip on the extra pairs of shoes that I owned. I would take FOREVER to find something I was looking for, simply because my room was cluttered with so much stuff.

One day, I was late for work because I couldn’t find my ID. I was digging through my work bag and couldn’t find it, so I dug through another bag, and another, and another…

That was when I realized that I had a huge problem.

I had too much stuff!

I sat there on my bed (strewn with clothes and notebooks and God knows what) and did some hard thinking. I didn’t need all the crap that I owned, and all this extraneous items laying around were actually hindering me rather than helping me. Why did I even keep them around? I didn’t even like half of what I own!

That’s when I hit Reddit and started looking for resources on how to downgrade. That, in turn, led me to YouTube, then to books and sites that helped me learn about minimalism.

And today, here we are! I have downsized my belongings to almost half, and I’m not done yet! I’m only starting, but already I feel less stressed and so much lighter.

Related image

I feel so good now that I’ve let go of most of my material possessions that it’s inspired me to dig deeper and learn more about minimalism! And this blog series that I’m starting will help me document my progress. If you learn a thing or two while reading it, that’s great. And if you have any suggestions, feel free to drop them below!

Today is just a getting-to-know-post to explain how I got into the lifestyle. Tomorrow I will give an brief introduction about minimalism, explain more about it, and link some of the resources I found helpful when I was starting out. But for now, I have to go. Thanks for reading!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Becoming Minimalist Day 1: Why I Chose Minimalism

Leave a Reply

