Of Cat Scratches and Apples

Today I was faced with two things I dislike quite a lot. From the title, one might deduce that I mean cats and apples – and that would be correct.

I am generally an open-minded and curious person, but I am also unbelievably stubborn when it comes to things I decide to dislike. When I make up my mind that I don’t like something, neither hell nor angels nor my mother can convince me otherwise.

For example, when I decide I don’t like a certain food, you would have to pry my mouth open with a crow bar and force-feed it to me. Doughnuts, for instance. There are only three flavours in existence that I can eat – green tea, plain glazed and choco butternut. Other flavours? Forget it, I will clench my teeth so hard that they’ll lock together.

So. Apples. There are several reasons why I dislike apples. One of the main reasons is that I don’t like the texture. They’re confusingly mushy and crisp at the same time. I don’t like the skins, which slice into my gums and make them bleed. And most of all I don’t like the way they taste because they bring back extremely unpleasant memories for me.

Case 1. An ex-boyfriend of mine was really big into health food and he loved apples. Once when I got confined in the hospital, he brought me apple-flavoured stuff every. Single. Day. For a week. By the end of the week I was ready to throw up at the sight of apples.

Case 2. When I was in my junior year of Uni, I bit into an apple, decided it tasted funny, and looked at it. There was half a wriggling worm dangling from the apple.

*stomach drops 20 leagues under the sea*

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Cats are a different matter. I guess this is kinda like my butterfly/moth experience? Except that with butterflies and moths, my first instinct is either to get a flame thrower and torch them all, or rip out their wings and stomp on them.

I do not like cats. That’s a given. But then, they don’t like me either, so it’s all good. But my boyfriend loves cats and has about 9 of them, so for a short while I tried to like them too. He even gave me cat-charming lessons (that didn’t work). I still don’t like them, they still don’t like me, and they STILL KEEP INJURING ME.

I started hating/fearing butterflies and moths because when I was a kid, I used to dissect them and shove pins into them, etc. Usual kid stuff, like burning ants with a magnifying glass. But one day one of the moths was still alive and it flew towards me with pins sticking out of its body, and ever since then I’ve been afraid of them.

It’s ironic that I hate cats when one of my very first memories involve them. In this memory, I’m three years old and I have a cat in my hands. I’m standing in front of a vat of motor oil, and dipping the cat in because it made bubbles underwater. It scratched my arms quite badly, however, so I let it go.

The next day, I found it dead by the gate so my brothers and I made a pretty funeral for it. An older cousin tells me I killed it so it was going to come back for me, and ever since then I’ve had an aversion to cats. And interestingly, all the cats I’ve come across instinctively hate me, too.

Now that we’re done with my histories on both, today I was assailed by RNGsus because he threw both at me in one day. Namely, apples – there were no other fruit options and I need to eat healthy because I’m currently sick – and some scratches from a stray cat.

The funny thing is, now that I’ve written this I don’t feel so bummed out about my day anymore so I guess I’ll stop here and leave. There really isn’t any point to this post, but it felt good to voice out my sentiments.

I hope you guys are having a good day, and stay away from evil cats!

PS: Look at my scratches. Just LOOK AT THEM.

PPS: I just realized once again how awesome my boyfriend really is. I disclosed that I was worried that me, not liking cats, might stir conflict between us in the future, but he assured me that it didn’t matter and he would choose me over all the cats in the world. Isn’t he the sweetest ever? ❤

Okay, signing off now. 😛

Leave a Reply

