In Pursuit of Perfection

Perfection is something that everyone wants.  Unfortunately, it’s not exactly attainable – although we all know that fact doesn’t stop any of us from trying.

For me, perfection doesn’t only mean a successful career, a happy relationship, and an OP personality. It also includes looking good. 

The trouble with being a girl is that there’s so much necessary vanity included in the bargain. Well, to be honest, I don’t really see it as something troublesome – just time-consuming.

I like my face. Okay, scratch that. I don’t just like it, I love it. I like my features, which are individually strange but as a whole very cute and pleasant-looking.  My boyfriend says I look like a doll, which I take as a compliment because I love watching horror movies about possessed dolls. 

What I don’t like is when something goes wrong with my face.  Like when my hair decides not to cooperate (looking at you, fringe. Why don’t you want to stay to the side?) or when I get freckles, or when my skin breaks out. I used to be a lot more vain and narcissistic until I started breaking out recently and my aunt said that God put them there on my face to lessen my vanity.

P.S.: that doesn’t give you any plus points AT ALL! 

Right now I’m staring at my face in my fancy handcrafted hand mirror, and I’m gloomy because I’ve just had a chemical peel a week ago. My skin still hasn’t finished peeling.

Right now, flakes of skin are coming off like reptile scales and I can’t wait for the process to finally end. Right now I can’t apply anything with alcohol content on my face and I can’t sleep face-down and go out into the sun. I’m okay with the other two, but not sleeping face-down? That’s difficult.

I did a chemical peel because my ridiculously sensitive skin decided to break out recently. Honestly, Clinique has brainwashed my face into thinking that skincare products below the 1000 peso mark are not worthy enough, so if I accidentally use something not deemed ‘worthy’ I’ll break out. Or have painful, peeling skin.

Not wow.

Thankfully, I’ve recently found some locally-made and less expensive products that work well on my skin without drying it out or irritating it.  So as of last week, I’ve been doing a completely new routine which includes Cetaphil soap-free cleanser for sensitive skin, Celeteque alcohol-free toner, and Celeteque oil-free moisturizer.  Now my skin looks healthy and doesn’t sting, which is all that matters. 

Diet is another thing. I’ve always been a tiny girl, but because of the steroids I’ve had to take for an illness I had, I went from 99lbs to 115 in 2015.  I’ve recently decided to go on a diet to lose this weight and to go back to 99lbs, which is a lot more difficult than I anticipated. But I’m getting there! 

As with hair….ugh, don’t even get me started on my fringe.

But anyway.  I’m on the right track now and with continuous effort, I’m sure I’ll look like a haunted doll again before long. 

5 thoughts on “In Pursuit of Perfection

Leave a Reply

