Hypersomnia Mode Initialized

I’m so sleepy…I woke up at around 5 AM-ish today, but I fell asleep again after a few minutes. Woke up for the second time around 6:30, fell asleep again…and the next thing I know, it’s 9 AM and I am quite tragically late.

I am now at my desk, but I still feel extremely sleepy. This is unusual, because I haven’t been taking any hydrocodone yesterday and I only took half a tablet on Monday. It seems like the side effects have remained.

So far, I’ve tried various methods of waking myself up. i.e. drinking a whole can of Monster, slapping myself, blogging, playing Pokemon Omega Ruby and Summoner’s War, getting a friend to call my phone and yell at my ear. They all worked for a little while, but now I’m back to being drowsy.

I am very tempted to curl up here and take a nap, but I’m afraid what happened on Monday will happen again. A couple of days ago, I slept from about 5 or 6 in the evening until 6 in the morning. I felt recharged when I woke up, but it seems to have initialized my oversleeping cycle.

I’m one of those people whom my friends describe as being either “omg do you even sleep” and “JEN…JEN…WAKE UP PLEASE.” I go through periods of sleep deprivation, followed by days of long slumber. Not very healthy, I know. I’m trying to stick to my current sleep-wake schedule to fix this, but the hydrocodone has seemed to worsen my case.

Well, would you look at that? I managed to type all those incoherent, rambling thoughts without falling on my face and dozing. Maybe there’s hope for me yet.

Or not. I’m going to go take a nap.

5 thoughts on “Hypersomnia Mode Initialized

      1. I can’t sleep at work. Too many people! I can sometimes work on little sleep.. Let’s hope today is that day. Don’t you fall asleep either! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

