i.e. Portraits are Time-Consuming

I’ve been meaning to try portraits for some time now, because my brother was flipping through my sketchbook one day and he was quite merciless with the criticism. I was a bit outraged because I’m NOT an artist – I just draw things I think look cute (like Pokemon). So when he told me I should try portraits to challenge myself, I thought that very well, I’m going to try!

Mistake # 1 – I don’t have any pencils lying around. So I picked up a random ballpoint pen and settled for that.

Mistake # 2 – using both hands to draw. I’m not used to spending more than 5-10 minutes on a drawing, so my hands got tired and I constantly switched hands, smearing the ink and making crazy lines on the portrait.

It’s my very very first time attempting portraiture, so please go easy on the criticism! Here are the results. 😀

I decided to draw my best friend. His face is easy to draw because it’s anime-ish, and anime is something I’m used to drawing. Plus, his hair is nice!

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

10 minutes up~ this was how far I got! 😀

MYXJ_20150623181611_save

He has always wanted to have fangs, so I gave him some! ❤

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

And here is another portrait of my best friend, looking condescendingly down at the camera. Hahaha. 😛

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

So far, so good.

That is, until my brother said my portraits had no feeling and an art professor said they had no ‘soul.’ Confused Jen is confused. First, feelings. Now, souls. What next? What does feelings have to do with ink marks on a piece of paper?

But, oh well.

This morning, I attempted my third portrait! I was a bit more conscious of the hatching lines this time, and I tried to make it clean. As usual, I was succeeding at first but then I went crazy with the lines again. -_-

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Comparison of portrait to real photo~ I guess I’m close enough?

Processed with VSCOcam

And this is what I get for drawing. Hand cramps and ink stains~ but to be fair, it’s probably because I’m not used to drawing for more than 10 minutes at a time. 😀

MYXJ_20150623085336_save

And that, my dear readers, is the story of how I first got into the time-consuming world of portraiture. -_-

Thanks for dropping by! Have a nice day. 😀

❤

7 thoughts on “i.e. Portraits are Time-Consuming

      1. I guess everyone has a different perception of art.. I’ve been drawing since I was 12, had classes and everything.. Lots of “art” looks like rubbish to me though so I’m very picky in what I like. 😛

        Like

  1. Love the cross hatching, also very impressed that you have the ability to draw with both hands (even with the drawback of smudging). When I write with my left hand, it looks like I’ve regressed to the skill of a 5 year old, so I can’t even imagine drawing with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i was originally left handed, but had to learn how to write with my right hand during elementary school 😛 and thank you soo much! i appreciate the feedback ^^

      Like

Leave a Reply

