Palawan Underground River

There is one sight in Palawan that I cannot miss every time I return to the island – it’s the Palawan subterranean river, as you may have deduced from the title of my post today.

It’s one of the 7 Wonders of the World in the nature category, and hopefully my photos today will make you see why it was chosen as such!

PS: this post is very photo-heavy, so if you’re on mobile, I suggest that you stop reading and open this page on your PC/laptop instead.

PPS: regarding one email from a reader who was complaining about how colours in the Phililppines are happier/more intense. Yes, I know that the colours should be way brighter than this but my photography style is desaturated and faded, so deal with it! 😛

PPS: photos are all mine unless stated otherwise. Photos without watermark are taken from my phone and were processed with VSCO. You guys don’t mind the name-dropping, do you? xP

I went with my colleague because it was her first time to go. This was my third time, but I was still excited! We didn’t sign up for the full package (zip line, rappelling, hiking etc.) because we had a flight back to Manila in the evening. I got to try the zip line anyway, but that’s another story.

We left the hotel at 7 in the morning. A tour van was there to pick us up, and we were with a family of four. Our tour guide was very nice, she was knowledgeable and had lots of jokes and stories to tell.

First stopover. I went to the viewing deck to take pictures, and here we have the first glimpse of the sea!

IMG_1800_副本

My backpack and phone. Getting Spotify Premium was a good idea – the offline listening mode is awesome. The three songs listed at the top aren’t my idea – a friend borrowed my phone and the next thing I knew I already had an Ariana Grande song on my song list. 😦

IMG_1808_副本

At the harbour. We had to go line up for registration, but my companion and I showed our IDs, so we were given priority. No lines, no waiting yaaay. The four-person family that was on our tour van also got priority because of us.

IMG_1809_副本

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_1810_副本

IMG_1811_副本

My sunburnt face. Not happy because of the overwhelming sunlight, but I still tried to smile!

IMG20150514095151_副本

So I bought a yellow watermelon shake to cheer me up.

IMG_1813_副本

IMG_1814_副本

A friendly dog at the waiting area.

IMG_1815_副本

IMG_1816_副本

IMG_1817_副本

IMG_1819_副本

IMG_1821_副本

IMG_1823_副本

IMG_1824_副本

IMG_1826_副本

IMG_1834_副本

IMG_1839_副本

After 20 minutes, we arrived at the island!

IMG_1844_副本

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_1845_副本

Me with my colleague. Our feet and knees are dirty because we had to trek through sand and foliage with our feet wet from the sea. Oh well. I’m not even mad!

(And yes, I’m wearing black even at the beach. Leave me alone :P)

MYXJ_20150516110037_save

IMG_1846_副本

IMG_1857_副本

IMG_1859_副本

IMG_1863_副本

IMG_1867_副本

Heading into the cave now. I don’t have any photos past the part with natural light because I was sitting in front and had to hold the light.

IMG_1878_副本

IMG_1880_副本

IMG_1895_副本

But anyway, here are some photos from the official website so you’ll still get an idea of what we saw inside!

There were rock formations, bats, stalactites and stalagmites, tarantulas, snakes, and more. It was really beautiful inside and naturally chilly, so I was glad that I was wearing a long-sleeved t-shirt.

Here we are on the way out!

IMG_1939_副本

IMG_1944_副本

Some fish swimming beside the boat. These are anchovies!

IMG_1945_副本

Different water level lines on the walls.

IMG_1947_副本

White part is shallow, blue part is almost 28 feet 😮

IMG_1950_副本

IMG_1952_副本

IMG_1954_副本

It’s strictly prohibited to eat at the island, so I went to a secluded spot to eat snacks. Yeah, I still got caught.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Monkeys!

IMG_1957_副本

IMG_1958_副本

IMG_1962_副本

Our tour guide and my colleague.

IMG_1967_副本

IMG_1969_副本

Another monkey!

IMG_1971_副本

And here we are on our way back.

IMG_1974_副本

IMG_1975_副本

IMG_1978_副本

We were heading to a buffet lunch, but I still got out my snacks because I was THAT hungry hahaha.

IMG_1979_副本

And here’s an avocado shake to cap off my post.

IMG_1980_副本

Did you guys enjoy the photos? Come here to the Philippines and experience the underground river too! 😀

I hope you all are having and awesome weekend! 🙂

One thought on “Palawan Underground River

Leave a Reply

