Nessus Art Gallery

Hey guys!

You all know I love art, right? I’m not a very expressive person, but I get all emotional and stuff when it comes to art and poetry. So it was a very nice surprise when, last night, I discovered a newly opened art gallery purely by serendipity.

Do you know what serendipity means? It means finding something pleasant or valuable without looking for it in the first place. And finding this gallery was a very pleasant surprise, indeed! 😀

What happened was this…after work, I went to a department store to buy a headset. I saw that a bookstore I liked was having a sale, so I went in just to look…and I ended up staying there 2 hours. 😦

So when I finally got out, the queue for taxis was so long that I decided to take the bus instead. I apparently got on the wrong bus, because it dropped me off about 5 minutes away from where I was supposed disembark. So I started walking along EDSA, and all of a sudden…

I saw an art gallery.

I stood blinking at it for a few seconds because I didn’t recall seeing it before. It was completely empty, but there was a delicate, silvery-looking sculpture with spiders near the window, so I decided to step in.

I’m so glad I had my camera with me yesterday! Here are some pictures.

IMG_0971_副本

IMG_0972_副本

Here is one of the artists – his name is Eddie Santillan, and he painted these gorgeous paintings. He says he mostly does portraits, but these are very beautiful too!

IMG_0973_副本

According to him, his fellow artists were students from the University of the Philippines and the University of Santo Tomas. I got to meet some of them when I went to their work space. 😀

IMG_0974_副本

IMG_0975_副本

IMG_0976_副本

IMG_0977_副本

IMG_0978_副本

IMG_0979_副本

IMG_0980_副本

More and more spiders! I love arachnids, so I definitely liked these the most. ❤

IMG_0981_副本

IMG_0982_副本

IMG_0983_副本

IMG_0984_副本

Lightbulb spiders!

IMG_0985_副本

IMG_0988_副本

IMG_0991_副本

The artists who are showing here are all very talented. Some of them have won prestigious competitions such as contests from Shell and Meralco. They have artwork displayed in GSIS and other government buildings!

IMG_0993_副本

Afterwards, they invited me to see their work space! It was awesome. I got to see their works-in-progress and some personal stuff like their Gundam and One Piece collections. I even got to meet their pet pit bull but it was too dark to take pictures. 🙂

IMG_0997_副本

IMG_0998_副本

They’re fans of Bob Marley apparently.

IMG_0999_副本

IMG_1000_副本

IMG_1002_副本

Skulls 😀

IMG_1003_副本

We went up to the second floor! More paintings were stocked here.

IMG_1004_副本

IMG_1005_副本

These are their canvases.

IMG_1006_副本

And they gave me a painting for free! I was so overwhelmed and I didn’t want to accept it at first, but I eventually gave in. They made me choose from several. All of them were beautiful but in the end, I choose this one.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. I will have this framed and hang it on my bedroom wall 🙂

IMG_1008_副本

One of the two cats I saw there. She’s clearly telling me “srsly human, leave me alone.”

IMG_1010_副本

IMG_1011_副本

Scale models, I think, for one of the paintings.

IMG_1015_副本

More cute skeletons!

IMG_1016_副本

IMG_1017_副本

IMG_1019_副本

A close-up of the painting they gave me. 🙂 It looks better in real life – more vibrant and colourful.

IMG_1020_副本

IMG_1021_副本

IMG_1022_副本

More shots of the interior, taken from outside.

IMG_1031_副本

IMG_1032_副本

I’m going to come back during their grand opening and bring more people with me, since they were so nice! The paintings are very beautiful, too.

BTW these paintings are for sale. They do commissions and art exchanges and they’ll be having an art workshop soon, so check them out, okay? If you guys want to visit their gallery, it’s located on EDSA, just beside Quezon City Police District Police Station 10.

I’ll update during their grand opening, so stay tuned!

Thank you for reading, and please have a nice weekend. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Nessus Art Gallery

Leave a Reply

