My Favourite Anime Pairing – Sunako Kirishiki and Seishin Muroi (Shiki)

Shiki has always been one of my favourite anime/manga. It’s a haunting tale set in a small, isolated area – and like all good stories, it begins with strangers coming to town.

These strangers are not ordinary human beings, but rather shiki – vampire-like undead who feed on blood to survive. They are headed by a small child named Sunako Kirishiki, and they quickly start killing the townspeople and turning them into shiki themselves.

The plot revolves around a young doctor named Toshio Ozaki and a disgruntled schoolboy named Yuuki Natsuno, who try to find out about the deaths and what was causing them.

Sunako Kirishiki

Sunako is a hundred-year-old corpse demon locked inside a 13-year-old’s body. She originated from a well-to-do family, but was bitten by one of her family’s guests. At first her family kept her alive by locking her up and sending her servants to feed upon, but she eventually escaped and found a new shiki “family.” She considers it her responsibility to keep them alive.

Sunako is an avid fan of Seishin Muroi’s essays and poetry, which was why they moved to Sotoba in the first place.

Technically, Sunako is the main antagonist of the series. However I can’t help but adore her, since she’s charming and cute. I also felt sorry for her after she uttered this:

“Don’t you find it…ironic? I really killed so much people…I may really be an atrocious mass murderer, but I still don’t consider the number of people I killed to be something big. There is no God for us to pray at times like this. There is no one to seek help from. No justice to be upheld in our case. Since I am a murderer. But I becoming a murderer was not because of my ideology, nor because of my view on values. If I’m left without human blood, I’ll die, as simple as that…I became what I am because of the bloodthirsty providence. Muroi-san, this is what having been abandoned by God means…”

Seishin Muroi

Seishin is the local priest of Sotoba and is also an author of several novels. Dr. Ozaki is his childhood friend and his partner in investigating the deaths around Sotoba. Sunako is a fan of his work. He always seems sad and lonely, and has at one point in his life attempted to commit suicide. He can sense the supernatural and is aware of the presence of shiki

In the end, Sunako bites him and he becomes resurrected as a jinrou, eventually the only one to live. He publishes his book, saves Sunako, leaves the town and starts a new life with her.

You may wonder why I like these two so much. They are so different from each other – a priest and a corpse demon. But they look out for each other, and the chemistry is undeniably there. They’re just two lost souls who are trying to make sense of the world they live in, and that makes them perfect for each other.

Plus they look adorable together, don’t you think? :3

Do you like Shiki, too? What do you think of it? Let me know!

Thanks for reading.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

