A List of the Best Free Programs and Software that You Should Use!

Hiiiii~ I’m back!

So this morning, I decided to write about some useful computer programs and applications that I use often. image I have grouped them by category, and I only listed the ones you can download for free, so that everybody could get them!
Disclaimer: I have listed the following applications on my own accord,  none of these services have paid me to advertise their products.
Now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s start!image
(Click on the names of the programs to download.)
Messaging/Email
This email service is free, web-based and encrypted, designed as a zero-knowledge system that uses client-side encryption. Hosted and developed by CERN scientists, it’s a safer and more private option to the usual email services. image You even need two passwords to sign into your account – one for authentication, and the other for decryption. I was on the waiting list for a couple of weeks before being approved, but I am very satisfied with this service and I use my ProtonMail email address for business transactions now.image
Editing
This is a free, web-based, easier version of Adobe Photoshop! If you don’t want to shell out money for PS, you can just use this.  I guarantee that you’ll get the same results! It’s also downloadable, so you can use it offline.
My favourite simple image editor.  It’s an all-in-one program that features filters, retouching, frames, scenes, and stickers. imageYou can also use it to edit GIFs.
Note: the program’s language is set in Chinese.
Browsers
I don’t really need to explain this – it’s an onion router that you can use to browse the web anonymously.  You can also use it to enter the deep web and access marketplace sites such as Silk Road 3.0. You can use it to access censored sites, get past restrictions, hide your IP address and mute your browsing habits.
Note: anonymity is not synonymous with security. image You still need to be on alert for middleman attacks on your browser, browse with HTTPS as much as possible, and check regularly for security flaws.
Software
This service lets you automatically list and install applications for your operating system of choice. It’s been very helpful to me,  because I reformat my PC quite often and this helps me keep all my applications and programs on hand. image You can use it for either Windows or Ubuntu.
Is your computer’s bright display keeping you up at night? image Don’t worry, here’s a program that will adjust your screen’s colour temperature in accordance to your location and time of the day.  It can help reduce eye strain and doesn’t disrupt your normal sleeping pattern.
A must-have for every Windows user. This suite of applications contains a lot of diagnostic tools to help you troubleshoot, pin down and solve errors.  Of all the tools, I find PsTools, Process Explorer, RootkitRevealer and AutoRuns most useful.
Is your computer starting to slow down? image Run it though with CCleaner to pinpoint what’s wrong! CCleaner is a cleaning and optimization tool. It clears junk, bloatware, caches, downloads, browser histories, and boosts your machine. imageYou can also download the mobile version through the Play Store.
Dropbox
A file hosting service similar to Google Drive or SkyDrive, Dropbox offers cloud storage, synchronization, client software and file sharing. image
You never need to worry about recovering deleted files anymore! image Recuva is freeware designed to be a user-friendly recovery tool that can undelete files and restores corrupted data from your computer or from flash drives.
This is a virtual disc emulation tool, which can help you create up to 4 virtual drives.  It also helps you mount and unmount images, and generate image files from device contents. It’s one of the easiest CD/DVD emulation programs to use.
Please don’t tell me you’re still using Notepad. image HAHAHA. Notepad++ is MUCH MUCH better…it’s powerful, has a lot of features, and supports at least 27 programming languages. It has some useful plugins, loading options, and setup options. Pretty much anything you want, really.
Rainmeter is an open-source software that you can use to customize your desktop.image You can have your choice of fully customizable skins for your RSS feeds, memory and battery usage, weather forecasts, launchers, media player, note-taking, and lists. 
Documents
The best open-source office suite you’ll find!  I honestly find it much better than Microsoft Office. First of all, it’s free. It has a complete suite of applications, such as a word processor, a presentation editor, drawing app, database management editor, spreadsheet, etc.
Literally the very first application/program I download on either my mobile phone or my PC/laptop. I can’t live without it!image It functions as a notebook, organizer, calendar, idea board, web clipper, and more. I use it to make checklists, I write blog and story drafts on it, and most importantly, I use it for law school to organize my schedule and take down notes.
So there’s my list of the best free programs and software (in my opinion). What about you guys? Leave me a comment to let me know your favourites!
Thanks for reading! Jen 

Photos sourced from Google Images.

3 thoughts on “A List of the Best Free Programs and Software that You Should Use!

Leave a Reply

